Categories
Collection Fiction

Getting Your Man

Getting Your Man Melissa Chan Spinifex 1993 Getting your man, getting the right man, is not always easy. But women whether they be pieceworkers, housewives, artists, business women or farmers, know just how to get their man. In the tradition of Thelma and Louise, women’s revenge drives these stories. There is romance with a feminist…

Categories
Fiction

St Suniti and the Dragon

St Suniti and the Dragon Suniti Namjoshi Spinifex 1993 A collection of modern fables that explore the concepts of decency, honour and sainthood. The book takes as its literary imagery monsters such as Grendel’s Dam, icons such as St Sebastian, the sentient creatures of Indian folklore and the dragon. The book was published in 1993…

Categories
Fiction

Feminist Fables

Feminist Fables Suniti Namjoshi Sheba Feminist Press 1981 From Spinifex: There was once a man who thought he could do anything, even be a woman. So he acquired a baby, changed its diapers and fed the damn thing three times a night. He did all the housework, was deferential to men, and got worn out.…

Categories
Colonialism Fiction

Safe Houses

Safe Houses Rose Zwi Spinifex 1993 From Spinifex: Set against the escalating violence of the last years of the Apartheid regime, Safe Houses tells the story of three families – the Sibiyas, the Singers, the Sterns – who are inextricably bound by love and hate, hope and betrayal. Ruth and Lola are drawn into the struggle against…

Categories
Fiction Poetry

Perverse Serenity

Perverse Serenity Robyn Rowland Spinifex 1992 This is a book-length narrative sequence on the love affair between the poet and a monk in an Irish monastery. It represents an unfinished love, a yearning that might also be interpreted as that sense of longing the exile feels for a homeland, one which will never be realised.…

Categories
Fiction

The Iron Mouth

The Iron Mouth Beryl Fletcher Spinifex 1992 A novel which follows the narrator, a film-maker, through the process of writing a script. As the script progresses her life begins to take on elements from the script, and with the central motif of her work being Helen of Troy, the lives of all those around her…

Categories
Fiction

The Falling Woman

The Falling Woman Susan Hawthorne Spinifex 1992 From Spinifex: A vivid desert odyssey; the falling woman travels through a haunting landscape of memory, myth and mental maps. Told in three voices – Stella, Estella and Estelle – this is an inspiring story drawn from childhood memories, imagined worlds and the pressing realities of daily life.…

Categories
Fiction

Too Rich

Too Rich Melissa Chan Spinifex 1991 ‘You can never be too thin or too rich,’ said Wallis Simpson, Duchess of Windsor. But Francesca Miles, independent feminist detective, disagrees. When one of the richest men in Sydney is found dead in his penthouse, she teams up with Inspector Joe Barnaby in a mystery that follows the…

Categories
Fiction Indigenous

Sanaaq: An Inuit Novel

Sanaaq: An Inuit Novel Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk Association Inuksiutiit 1984 From the University of Manitoba Press: Sanaaq is an intimate story of an Inuit family negotiating the changes brought into their community by the coming of the qallunaat, the white people. Composed in 48 episodes, it recounts the daily life of Sanaaq, a strong and outspoken young widow,…

Categories
Collection Fiction Indigenous

Sojourner’s Truth and Other Stories

Sojourner’s Truth and Other Stories Lee Maracle Press Gang Publishers 1990 In the tradition of Native oratory, these stories are layered with unresolved human dilemmas. Maracle writes with love and humor about the pain and triumphs, and the spirit of resistance. From Robin McGrath: In her preface, “You Become the Trickster,” Maracle outlines her objectives:…