Categories
Fiction Ireland

Blood Sisters

Blood Sisters Valerie Miner The Women’s Press 1981 Blood Sisters has at its hear two Irish sisters, Gerry and Polly, who grew up steeped in the ideals of the 1916 uprising. Their lives separated when Polly married, went to California, eventually becoming mother to a son and daughter. Gerry stayed in Ireland, later marrying too,…

Categories
Fiction Women of Colour

The Sea Birds Are Still Alive

The Sea Birds Are Still Alive Toni Cade Bambara The Women’s Press 1984 Ten stories of black life written with Toni Cade Bambara’s characteristic vigor, sensibility and winning irony. The stories range from the timid and bumbling confusion of a novice community worker in “The Apprentice” to the love-versus-politics crisis of an organizers wife, to…

Categories
Fiction SciFi

The Word for World is Forest

The Word for World is Forest Ursula K. Le Guin Berkley Books 1972 Centuries in the future, Terrans have established a logging colony & military base named “New Tahiti” on a tree-covered planet whose small, green-furred, big-eyed inhabitants have a culture centered on lucid dreaming. Terran greed spirals around native innocence & wisdom, overturning the…

Categories
Collection Fiction

Getting Your Man

Getting Your Man Melissa Chan Spinifex 1993 Getting your man, getting the right man, is not always easy. But women whether they be pieceworkers, housewives, artists, business women or farmers, know just how to get their man. In the tradition of Thelma and Louise, women’s revenge drives these stories. There is romance with a feminist…

Categories
Fiction

St Suniti and the Dragon

St Suniti and the Dragon Suniti Namjoshi Spinifex 1993 A collection of modern fables that explore the concepts of decency, honour and sainthood. The book takes as its literary imagery monsters such as Grendel’s Dam, icons such as St Sebastian, the sentient creatures of Indian folklore and the dragon. The book was published in 1993…

Categories
Fiction

Feminist Fables

Feminist Fables Suniti Namjoshi Sheba Feminist Press 1981 From Spinifex: There was once a man who thought he could do anything, even be a woman. So he acquired a baby, changed its diapers and fed the damn thing three times a night. He did all the housework, was deferential to men, and got worn out.…

Categories
Colonialism Fiction

Safe Houses

Safe Houses Rose Zwi Spinifex 1993 From Spinifex: Set against the escalating violence of the last years of the Apartheid regime, Safe Houses tells the story of three families – the Sibiyas, the Singers, the Sterns – who are inextricably bound by love and hate, hope and betrayal. Ruth and Lola are drawn into the struggle against…

Categories
Fiction Poetry

Perverse Serenity

Perverse Serenity Robyn Rowland Spinifex 1992 This is a book-length narrative sequence on the love affair between the poet and a monk in an Irish monastery. It represents an unfinished love, a yearning that might also be interpreted as that sense of longing the exile feels for a homeland, one which will never be realised.…

Categories
Fiction

The Iron Mouth

The Iron Mouth Beryl Fletcher Spinifex 1992 A novel which follows the narrator, a film-maker, through the process of writing a script. As the script progresses her life begins to take on elements from the script, and with the central motif of her work being Helen of Troy, the lives of all those around her…

Categories
Fiction

The Falling Woman

The Falling Woman Susan Hawthorne Spinifex 1992 From Spinifex: A vivid desert odyssey; the falling woman travels through a haunting landscape of memory, myth and mental maps. Told in three voices – Stella, Estella and Estelle – this is an inspiring story drawn from childhood memories, imagined worlds and the pressing realities of daily life.…